Platform API
User Type

User Types

Depending the channel type your users are chatting in, they are given different labels as well as access to different actions and information. Users can register other users as friends, interact with them in a private chat, or block specific users from sending direct messages. In some cases, users can be given an operator role and the designated operators can moderate other users who commit abnormal actities.


User vs. Participant vs. Member

TypeDefinition

User

Scope: Application
Refers to one who can access all the chat features of a SendBird application with their own unique ID but does not have administrative privileges.

Participant

Scope: Open channels
Refers to a specific user who has entered an open channel without an invitation and is staying online in the channel. Open channel participants are provided with limited information only. As opposed to group channel members, relational information such as connection status, typing indicators, and read receipts will not be given to the open channel participants. These participants can enter and exit the channel at all times.

Member

Scope: Group channels
Refers to a specific user who has joined a group channel through an invitation from a channel member or their own choice due to the channel’s characteristics. Relational information such as connection status, typing indicators, and read receipts can be given to the group channel members depending on the channel settings.


Friend and Block

A user can register other users within an application as friends, start an instant 1-on-1 group chat with a friend, and invite friends to existing group channels. On the other hand, a user can block specific users to stop receiving further messages from them in 1-on-1 group channels and notifications of their messages in 1-on-N group channels. You can choose whether or not users can view which users they have blocked in the channel UI.

A SendBird application provides two blocking options: including or excluding blocked users when sending invitations and turning on/off push notifications from blocked users. The previous block modes are now deprecated and only supported for customers who have been using them from before.

  • Including or excluding blocked users when sending invitations: determines whether or not to automatically filter out blocked users when a user invites a group of users to a new group channel. The value of this option can be adjusted only from our side before integrating your SendBird application to an app. If you want to change the value, contact our engineering team for further assistance. (Default: including)
  • Turning on/off push notifications from blocked users: determines whether or not to send push notifications to a user for the messages that blocked users sent in a specific 1-on-N group channel where they are members together. The value of this option can be set individually by channel. If you want to use this option, contact our engineering team for further assistance. (Default: off)
1-on-1 group channel
Channel listPush notificationsMessages

A user's channel list will not be updated and rearranged from the blocked user's messages.

A user will not be notified that the blocked user sent a message.

New messages sent from the blocked user will not be delivered to the channel, but are saved in the database and displayed in the blocked user's channel view. The blocked user is not aware of their blocked status. A user can only see the messages that the blocked user has sent before being blocked.

* If the blocked user is unblocked, a user can see all the messages except those that were sent during the blocking period.

1-on-N group channel (group chat)
Channel listPush notificationsMessages

For a blocked user's message, a user's channel list will be updated and rearranged.

A user will be notified of messages from blocked users if push notifications from blocked users is turned on. Otherwise, they will not be notified.

All the messages from blocked users are delivered to the channel. You can choose whether a user can view which users they have blocked in the UI of the channel.


Operator

You can assign operators in each channel to moderate participants or members with abnormal activities by banning or muting them in the channel.

The banned participants or members will be kicked out of the channel. After the ban time set by the operators expires, they can participate back in or rejoin the channel. On the other hand, the muted participants or members are allowed to stay in the channel and view the messages, but can't talk until the operators unmute them.